Hidden gems – Hoar Cross

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

hoar cross church (16)

The church of the Holy Angels at Hoar Cross is one I had tried to get into before. The first  time it was a summer’s day, but I did not manage to get inside until the rain highlighted the stark colours of a winter landscape and reflections shimmered on wet stone.

hoar cross church (6)hoar cross church (9)

It is not the usual age for the churches we visit, being a mere babe of a place.I have to be honest, it was the name ‘Hoar Cross’ that had made me curious in the first place, indicating, I assumed, a place of some antiquity, so I was a little disappointed on my initial visit to find that the church is a Victorian edifice, but if Betjeman could call it a masterpiece, it had to be worth a visit.

hoar cross church (8)hoar cross church (11)

The pink sandstone echoes the red brick of the Hall beside the church and the history of the two is…

Ursprünglichen Post anzeigen 660 weitere Wörter

