Memoirs of a Hayseed Physicist by Peter Martel

swo8

Part 33:
My First University:
After the lecture was over Dr. Blanchard gave me a bit of advice about lectures and lecturing, that I subsequently found to be, by and large, quite true. When you go on with your education, he said, “you’ll hark back to my lectures and you’ll find that you learned more from them than from many other lectures stylishly delivered with seemingly stimulating ideas.” He was correct, I remarked to myself later on, after monitoring many seemingly brilliant talks that sounded good at the time they were delivered, but eminently forgettable shortly thereafter.

Screen Shot 2017-07-02 at 12.54.31 PM

With permission of the author. This is an on going story one paragraph at a time beginning on the post of July 6th. We will get back to our music and art after this little break.

Ursprünglichen Post anzeigen

