What is your book going to be about?

Author Don Massenzio

Author Stephen King once said that the question he is asked most is where his ideas come from. This quote is the answer he usually gives:

77274-Stephen-King-Quote-So-where-do-the-ideas-the-salable-ideas-come

When he’s been in a more snarky mood he has said that he has a magic box in his basement where ideas appear and when he wants to write a book, he just goes and grabs one.

That being said, not all of us have the fertile mind of Stephen King so where can we get our ideas. Many of my ideas have come from these sources.

headlines1. Use News Headlines

I’ve written many short stories and a couple of books by perusing the news headlines. My first published short story, Heal Thyself, came from a headline that I read and then embellished into a ‚what if‘ scenario.

I used this piece as a way to overcome getting stuck while writing the novel…

Ursprünglichen Post anzeigen 453 weitere Wörter

