Draw a Bird Day: Cardinal

method two madness

cardinal head s

Too often when I think of my mother I remember the long years of Alzheimer’s, when she lived in a world I could neither share nor understand. This distorts the woman who should live there:  the one who loved to sing, to laugh, to talk to anyone who crossed her path.  The woman who taught me to embroider and to treasure words.  The librarian who gardened in roses, who wondered at birds, whose favorite color was red.

Scarlet messenger
flashing wingsong–penetrates
directly to heart

cardinal sketch scan s

At the beach this year, a pair of cardinals visited the deck daily.  Even when we couldn’t see them, we would hear them singing.  Then when I returned home, a pair of cardinals started regularly visiting the Rose of Sharon tree.  Cardinals were my mother’s favorite bird, and so these days she is often in my thoughts.

I haven’t been doing much drawing lately, but birds always…

Ursprünglichen Post anzeigen 20 weitere Wörter

