Treasures

Jane Dougherty Writes

Another poem for Jilly’s collection. This one is a haibun.

“Like many poets I’m part blackbird and part red squirrel and my brain chatters, shrieks, and whistles.” ~ Jim Harrison

MySunset2

Through the many-coloured world, spangled and speckled, and scented with the red and blue notes of rose and rosemary and the fresh green of mint, I wing sometimes, or tread the long swaying grass. Always at my side, water runs, and when the river is far away, rain sparkles in the gutter, ditch water cocoons frog ballets, and the ocean of the sky smiles in white waves.

Treasures strew every path, pebble smooth or hooked and barbed with berry flowers, moon pale in the streambed, purple as night water in the meadow grass. From the shade, cool and deep, bright eyes watch, timid, fire-furred, while I thread cow parsley and bindweed into crowns. And when the sun slips behind the…

Ursprünglichen Post anzeigen 37 weitere Wörter

