Cats, stars and the night

Jane Dougherty Writes

This evening’s clutch of twitter prompt poems. Funny how they follow a theme.

1024px-Franz_Marc_-_Drei_Katzen_groß

Do you see me

through the cigarette haze

as you pour another glass of champagne?

Am I a ghost

that hangs in the rafters of memory?

 

Is dawn breaking or night falling?

Time stopped when you went away,

the sun and moon,

guttering candles

compared with your face.

 

A cat in my shadow stalks

with eyes of fire.

A light at your window breaks,

I see your silhouette

and wait, cat-like,

for the dark.

 

Watch the stars fall and wish,

for all the things you’ll never have,

like sun at midnight,

a crown of stars

and me.

 

Cat sleeps with half-open eyes

and dreams of birds

that shine like stars

in the coping of heaven’s roof.

Ursprünglichen Post anzeigen

