Galerie

Novi Sad, a Serbian Athens?

notesfromcamelidcountry

A couple of years ago, when I visited Serbia for the first time, I was taken aback by its fascinating, historic and (surprisingly) cosmopolitan capital, Belgrade. As I sat on the plane on the way home, I vowed I’d go back to explore some of the rest of a country that comes with a weight of history, and a modern reputation that isn’t conducive to tourism. I finally got to return for a few days and, after a day in Belgrade, headed north for a weekend in Serbia’s second city, Novi Sad.

I was looking forward to spending some time in a place known both as the ‚Athens of Serbia‘, because historically it has been a centre of learning and has a rich cultural heritage, and as the ‚Gibraltar of the Danube‘, thanks to the immense and imposing Petrovaradin Fortress. More than that though, Novi Sad has a reputation as…

Ursprünglichen Post anzeigen 577 weitere Wörter

