Friday Book Share #5

Daring To Jess

As I’m a huge technology geek and love thinking about social order and progress, I am going through a science fiction phase (as you could probably tell from my first #FridayBookShare on H. G. Wells’ The Time Machine).

Brave New World

In my opinion, Aldous Huxley takes his time setting up this dystopian world but it all starts to fall together by Chapter IV. I strongly recommend that you stick with the first couple of chapters, otherwise the science and society might not make much sense!

First line of the book

A squat grey building of only thirty-four storeys.

Recruit fans by adding the book blurb

Not so far into the future, the world has become a single supranational state, ruled by a council of World Controllers. Consumerism has replaced religion, science has eliminated illness and ageing; the happiness of all is ensured by genetic engineering, brainwashing, recreational sex…

Ursprünglichen Post anzeigen 318 weitere Wörter

