Autism – maybe not a spectrum but perhaps a galaxy, or a mosaic?

the silent wave

I don’t necessarily see Asperger’s/autism as a spectrum. Sure, I use the terminology, but only because that’s the officially recognized (and recognizable) wording.

But I think that the word „spectrum“ is somewhat problematic. It conveys a linear shape, measured in a single dimension. Anyone who’s spent any amount of time in the Asperger’s/autism spectrum community knows that that’s not quite accurate.

Rather, I perceive the Asperger’s/autism spectrum as more of a galaxy, or perhaps a mosaic.

Let’s look at each of these in turn, and I’ll even explain myself. 🙂

The Concept of Asperger’s/Autism as a Galaxy:

In a way, the Asperger’s/autism spectrum is like a galaxy–a collection of stars of varying luminosity blazing together, yet apart and independent. Each of us contributes our own light to the whole. Some of us are gathered more intensely in a center, while others remain on the periphery (usually by choice). This could…

Ursprünglichen Post anzeigen 774 weitere Wörter

