(My) Asperger’s / autism and clumsiness

the silent wave

I’m currently reading Tony Attwood’s book called „The Complete Guide To Asperger’s Syndrome“ and I must say, despite its age (10 years now) and some of the semi-bothersome pathology-based terminology (the book is person-first, while I prefer identity-first), it’s a really decent book overall. As in, pretty excellent, actually.

Tony was ahead of his time, talking about Asperger’s/autism in a rather neutral light, while everyone else in the professional community was still Hooked On Pathologics.

In his book, he mentions clumsiness as a trait of Asperger’s. I don’t recall the current diagnostic criteria for the autism spectrum mentioning that, but it almost should, given the fact that I, like so many others, slam-dunk the criteria–and we also report being uncoordinated.

Here’s a typical day for me…

Trip over cat. Dammit Vanessa, you’re gonna kill us both!

Drop keys and SoBe water bottle. Thank goodness for the cap, tightly screwed on.

Ursprünglichen Post anzeigen 434 weitere Wörter

