Too Many Faces

Anonymously Autistic

I realize that I haven’t really spoken about something that has a huge impact in my life. Its something a lot of us take for granted. Most people look at a face and know what it means but when I look at faces I am most often confused.

I can’t remember people’s faces so I try to pick one very distinctive feature and try to remember that. If they change the feature I choose then I am out of luck. This was often questioned when I needed to describe shoplifters in a convenience store I worked in when I was younger.

In addition to my inability to recognize people out of context I also have a hard time reading the intentions or feelings of the faces in front of me. Of course there are certain emotions that are easy, even for me, to recognize.

If someone has a huge smile…

Ursprünglichen Post anzeigen 118 weitere Wörter

