Music that means something – Day 2: Don Mclean

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

The Starry Night by Vincent Van Gogh

I never really ‚got‘ Van Gogh when I was younger. At junior school there were faded prints of his sunflowers and the chair which did nothing to explain why his work was so popular. Lots of people seemed to think a child could have painted half his paintings. It wasn’t until I saw one of them for myself that I began to understand the sheer passion of the man…and I was too young to ‚get‘ that too. I only understood that his paintings were exciting to look at.

They didn’t tell us about his life either… we were way too young for the real story… but when Vincente Minelli’s film, Lust for Life, was shown on the old black and white TV, I learned a bit more. Years later I saw it in colour and was finally able to appreciate what Minelli…

Ursprünglichen Post anzeigen 753 weitere Wörter

