Manipulation of the ‚filter bubble‘

Meeka's Mind

In my previous post, ‚Is Facebook the Real Big Brother‘, I talked about Facebook and manipulation. Here, now, is a TED talk from 2011 about the ‚personalisation‘ of the internet, and how it locks us in rather than freeing us up.

I have to say I was shocked when I watched this TED talk, especially as Eli Pariser foresaw the problems we’re now facing…6 years ago. I was also shocked because I had no idea that even my searches were being ‚tailored‘ for me by Google.

„From human gatekeepers to algorithmic ones.“

When I do a search, I want it to be relevant, yes, but I also want to see what’s out there. I want to choose what I see, because if I can’t see the things that I may not like, I may be manipulated into seeing things that are skewed for someone else’s benefit.

Cambridge Analytics already…

Ursprünglichen Post anzeigen 99 weitere Wörter

